Literature Circle??

Not so sure I can make it, but I will fix it.. ´till it works!!

What I mean, is that I am trying to focus on beginners, so… maybe heavy reading won´t be my best friend on this task.
What I came out was that I could work with comics instead of books, in this case I chose “Garfield”.

Pre-reading activities

As I am working with beginners what I will do is first  put them into groups of 3 and ask them to look for the meaning in the dictionary of list of words that I would have given to them. That is the needed vocabulary to understand the comics I will give them later.

Then, I will say each word and they will repeat it, to have an idea of how it is pronounced.

Afterwards, I will ask them to make a sentences using that word per team, and to share it to the whole group, and make sure they get the meaning of the words.

Later on, we will be seeing modal verbs. After the explanation they will do a sentence with each modal verb individually.

During reading activities

They will get into groups again, and I will give them the comic, they will be different per team, and when they are done reading them, and have fully understood, they will switch the comic with the team next to them.

Post-reading activities

We will talk about the 5 different comics and if they liked them or not, and why.

Finally, they will have to make their own comic using modal verbs and the vocabulary given in class like homework.

And that would be my whole plan. I let you this, enjoy!!

http://www.gocomics.com/garfield/2013/05/30

Leave a comment